Kentucky Legislator Accidentally Fires Gun In Capitol, Declares ‘It Happens’

9 Jan

Not an onion article:

LOUISVILLE, Ky (WHAS11) — Kentucky Representative Leslie Combs (D-Pikeville) accidentally fired her handgun in her Capitol Annex office Tuesday, the eastern Kentucky lawmaker confirmed on Wednesday. No injuries were reported.

“I obviously was stunned,” Combs said. “That’s a first.”

Yes, stunning.

The three term representative said her Ruger semi-automatic handgun accidentally fired as she unloaded it while meeting with Representative Jeff Greer (D-Brandenburg).

“I was purposefully disarming it to put it up because I didn’t like it and didn’t want to use it anymore,” Combs explained that she was planning on selling the gun.

“Why at that particular moment? I kind of had it on my brain. I had it in my purse,” Combs said. “I carried it usually, and I thought I want to put that sucker away. And I did. And I was going through the process as I have been trained to do, had it pointed in the proper direction like I’ve been trained, was disarming it like Ive been trained to do, and …like I said I am a gun owner …. it happens.”

It happens. It happens. IT. HAPPENS. This person is a state legislator who states she was trained to handle a firearm. IT DOES NOT USUALLY FUCKING HAPPEN!

Combs said the incident had not prompted her to reconsider whether she would be armed at the Capitol.

“I am a gun owner,” Combs said. “I support the right to bear arms. As a female, particularly for protection rights, I feel the need to carry a firearm not only because I travel here a lot of times but a lot of times at night to Lexington, but in the eastern Kentucky region, it is normal to have that.”

“I go into a lot of areas where I’d feel I need the protection,” Combs told WHAS11. “And I usually always have a firearm on me. But obviously there’s a need for, I will be the first proponent for gun safety at the same time I am also a proponent and support people being able to carry weapons properly and with a concealed carry permit.”

Areas such as the capitol before the State of State address by the governor?

At least some lawmakers have some common sense:

Stumbo recalled that subsequent governors have not reissued an executive order banning guns from the Capitol after it expired when Gov. Paul Patton left office in 2003.

But it is a concern to some lawmakers. Louisville representative Mary Lou Marzian tried to prohibit guns at the capitol several years ago and said the issue should be reconsidered.

“I think we need to look at whether or not we’re going to allow guns around here,” Marzian said. “I think we really have to look at safety, the volatility of a weapon that could go off and really injure somebody.”

That’s entirely too rational. Time for an irrational view from the very person who fired the gun inside the capitol:

Combs is sticking by her Second Amendment rights, and was already planning to replace her gun.

It’s an automatic,” Combs said. “I need to stick with revolvers.”

Nah, I suggest upgrading to fully automatic! No half measures.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 289 other followers

