Boxing Insults That Were Genius Back In The Second Grade

11 Dec

Philly Daily News columnist Bernard Fernandez reported this gem:

Bernard “The Executioner” Hopkins (48-4-1, 32 KOs), The Ring magazine light-heavyweight champion, and undisputed super middleweight titlist Joe Calzaghe (44-0, 32 KOs) have been jawing at each other for years, but always from a distance.

Or at least that was the case until Friday, when their paths finally crossed at the MGM Grand in Las Vegas.

North Philadelphia native Hopkins was in town as the business partner of Oscar De La Hoya, the co-promoter of Saturday’s matchup of WBC welterweight champ Floyd Mayweather Jr. and British challenger Ricky Hatton.

Calzaghe jetted in from his home country of Wales to cheer on Hatton, or so he claimed.

But when Calzaghe approached Hopkins, in a media room full of reporters from both sides of the Atlantic, it was a mortal lock that more would be exchanged than season’s greetings.

“I’m going to wreck your face,” Hopkins told Calzaghe, adding that “I would never let a white boy beat me.”

Interesting way to go.  Potentially alienating a huge portion of your fan base is certainly one way to insult your potential opponent.  Talking about how he’s going to ‘wreck’ Calzaghe’s face was certainly original too.  Hopkins may be a local product, but he has to brush up on his insults if he expects to sway me to his side.  I liked the guy, but 2nd grad insults just won’t cut it.

Calzaghe, whom publicist Fred Sternburg has cleverly dubbed “Joe C Wales,” did not appear to be intimidated. In fact, he insisted he is eager to move up to 175 pounds and get it on with B-Hop, even in America, where he has never fought.

“It’s good to show my face here [in the United States],” said Calzaghe, who insisted it won’t be his mug that gets wrecked when he and Hopkins stop talking and start punching. “I’ve come here to support Ricky, but this was a bonus.

“Hopkins is all mouth. If we ever fight, he will get knocked out. I will kill ‘The Executioner.’ “

This guy certainly went a different route.  Instead of dancing around it or just talking about bodily harm, he stated he will end Hopkins’ life.  Period, end of story.  I don’t dislike it, I just find it too strong…it’s almost like he’s overcompensating for his inability to previously kill anyone.  Murder someone in cold blood Joey, then get back to me.

6 Responses to “Boxing Insults That Were Genius Back In The Second Grade”

  1. Adeel December 11, 2007 at 9:35 pm #

    It’s all about blows to the head, man.

    Speaking of taking blows to the head, I just sent off my application to Penn today. Wish me luck.

  2. Chris December 11, 2007 at 9:39 pm #

    good luck…what are you looking to do there?

  3. Adeel December 11, 2007 at 9:48 pm #

    More philosophy, what else?

  4. Chris December 11, 2007 at 9:51 pm #

    Wish I could’ve gone to Penn, how are you planning on paying for it?

    I could’ve tried to get into the Urban Design school, but it’s EXPENSIVE. Hell, Temple was too much for me and thus I went into the workforce after undergrad.

  5. The Red Tornado December 11, 2007 at 10:31 pm #

    what, not smart enough for a scholarship?

  6. Adeel December 12, 2007 at 12:55 am #

    I plan on them paying me: financial aid, tuition remission, stipends. It’s a PhD program.

    All this, of course, assumes that I get in. At least I sent them a crisp envelope.

Leave a Reply

