Randarino Is Mad As Hell And He’s Not Going To Take It Anymore!

25 Aug

I want you to get up right now, sit up, go to your windows, open them and stick your head out and yell – ‘I’m as mad as hell and I’m not going to take this anymore!’ Things have got to change. But first, you’ve gotta get mad!… You’ve got to say, ‘I’m as mad as hell, and I’m not going to take this anymore!’ get up out of your chairs, open the window, stick your head out, and yell, and say it: I’M AS MAD AS HELL, AND I’M NOT GOING TO TAKE THIS ANYMORE!”

Well Randy Miller, writer from the lil’ paper that could, couldn’t take it anymore. He couldn’t take the injustice he saw in the world. So he went and he wrote about it god dammit!

I blogged the two previous days about what it’s like to be working media in the Phillies clubhouse, and Pat Burrell’s antics made it an easy decision to share the latest.

Sing it brother!

Burrell had a great day Saturday – three-run homer in the first inning, RBI double on a flyball lost in the sun in the fifth, run-scoring single in the sixth. The five ribbies tied his career-high, moving him past Bobby Abreu into seventh place on the Phils’ career list. The homer gave him 30 for the fourth time and left him two shy of 250 for his career.

And this big day for Pat happened in a game nationally televised by FOX.

Afterward, Burrell did an interview for the network. I saw some of it waiting for an elevator ride from the press box to the clubhouse. He was in a good mood talking with Ken Rosenthal.

And then came the old disappearing act.

Oh. My. God. What did Burrell do? Did he stiff a few sick kids in a hospital after saying he’d show? Say it ain’t so.

While waiting for manager Charlie Manuel to speak, I asked another reporter how long he thought we’d have to wait for Burrell.

“I bet it’ll be 40 minutes,” I said.

“Twenty minutes from the time Charlie is done talking,” the reporter countered.

“Twenty minutes after Charlie?” I said. “That’ll be 40 minutes after the game.”

Another reporter chimed in:

“I say he won’t talk at all”

Reporter No. 3 wins the prize.

That son of a bitch. Time to jump forward a little:

One reporter noticed Burrell at his locker briefly, approached, then was told, “Gotta go, bro.”

No Burrell on Saturday.

When I asked Phillies Public Relations official Greg Casterioto if this true and was Burrell wouldn’t return, he confirmed the blowoff.

We shouldn’t be surprised.

Earlier this year, a Phillies player approached me about this topic.

“How long has this been going on around here?” he asked. “This ain’t right.”

“For a few years, and it’s getting worse,” I responded.

This guy Burrell is a bastard. Skipping out on the media is the lowest of the low. Child rapists even shake their collective heads at Burrell’s conduct.

But with a big paycheck comes responsibility and expectation to represent the organization in a positive way off the field. I’m not totally sure about on this, but I don’t think Burrell ever has shown up for one of the Phillies’ offseason functions, which includes a media luncheon and visit to area malls to sign autographs. And in the clubhouse, he’s never been someone the media can count on, sometimes even after games where his comments are warranted. This may be overlooked by Phillies fans because Burrell is friendly with one of the Comcast SportsNet sportscasters and frequently grants that station interviews.

I think I have a pretty good feel for Burrell. We’ve been around each other since his rookie season in 2000 and have known each other since the Phillies drafted him first overall in 1998. We’ve had some good talks over the years, and he almost always makes a little time for me when I need him for a few questions.

This fucking guy. I say we let him walk. We ask him to do one thing and that’s talk to Randy Miller on a daily basis. Whine and dine the lil’ motherfucker if you have to, but get on his good side. It’s the biggest reason he was signed to that huge deal, to kiss the ass of said reporter.

But Burrell has gotten on me for being a tough reporter, sometimes in front of others. We never talked about it, but I heard he was really ticked when I took Billy Wagner’s side in their feud.

Wagner was out to dinner with myself and a couple other reporters in spring training one year when Burrell walked into Villa Gallace. The next day, Wagner told me he was called a “rat” by Burrell for hanging out with writers. Wagner told me he responded by saying, “Maybe you should get to know these guys a little and they won’t get on you as much.”

Wagner also told me that Burrell was the reason so few Phillies players were available after games during his two years in Philadelphia. When a PR person would go to a backroom that was off-limits to the media and ask for someone to make themselves available, Burrell often would instruct the player to stay put, Wagner told me on many occasions.

I’ve heard from Phillies players and team officials this practice still goes on.

Thus, Burrell’s media-stiffing on Saturday was no shocker.

That settles it for me, and it should for you as well, fair reader. If Billy Wagner calls you out, you know you’re in the wrong. We need to cut this cancer from the lockerroom. Players known to be surly to the media are not my kind of ballplayers. We need to know their every thought on every single pitch and play, and we can only get this by them cozying up to reporters. Your play on the field only goes so far, Mr. Burrell. We expect you to get on your knees and kiss the feet of those pudgy guys with the media passes. Otherwise, how do we know if you really love baseball, apple pie, and freedom itself? You commie.

Leave a Reply

