Forever 10:03 PM

30 Oct

When Brad Lidge struck out Eric Hinske to end the inning, the game, and the World Series, I jumped up just like he did. There were high fives, hugs, kisses, beers being spilled and shouting by everyone. There was a tear or two from some of the more sentimental fans. When Brad Lidge finished off the game and cemented victory for the Philadelphia Phillies, I saw my first championship. It’d been 24 years and running without any sort of championship. Older fans had the 1980 Phillies and the 1983 Sixers, plus the Flyers a couple times. Villanova graduates had their magical season when they were all coked up and out of their minds. But I had nothing beyond an NFC championship win by the Eagles and an Elite Eight appearance by the Saint Joseph’s Hawks.

All that changed at 10:03 PM. My sports life is now whole. I can truly say I’ve seen this with my own eyes. I’ve experienced the highs and lows of 162 games, and the ecstasy of the postseason. It was terrific seeing guys like Jimmy Rollins and Pat Burrell get their first championship, and great to see Jamie Moyer finally get his day in the sun. This Phillies team has been incredibly likable all year, led by one of the best men in baseball. Charlie Manuel kept this team on an even-keel, knew how to get the players to play for him all season long, and kept his focus even as he lost his mother around the NLCS.

This championship is for Charlie…but it’s also for the fans. This is the greatest night of my sports fandom. I wish it was forever 10:03 PM.

3 Responses to “Forever 10:03 PM”

  1. Matt from Conshohocken October 30, 2008 at 2:16 am #

    I wish it was too. I’m only 22 and it’s felt like forever waiting for a Philly championship.

    Nothing can dim my spirit tomorrow as I am determined to find someone to cover my shifts for friday as I take the amtrak back to philly. Just be happy you found yourself surrounded by phellow phans. I was unfortunate to only have one phan (but better than none) with me when Lidge threw that final pitch.

    Tomorrow at work, I will be forced to blast the Rocky theme periodically throughout the day

  2. The Red Tornado October 30, 2008 at 12:33 pm #

    I was 10 when they won it all in 80 and my son is 10 now, hopefully he doesnt have to wait another 28 years for the next one. I have no voice left from cheering so much at the game last night. It was truly awesome being a part of the crowd, I felt like I had 45 thousand friends.

  3. dajafi October 31, 2008 at 10:55 pm #

    It’s two days later and I’m still pretty freaking thrilled.

Leave a Reply

