Alex Rodriguez ‘Is Sorry’ For Banned Substance Usage

9 Feb

Over the weekend Alex Rodriguez’s world was turned asunder with a whirlwind of accusations about PED usage due to a report that he tested positive in 2003 for a banned substance.  Speaking with Peter Gammons earlier today (scheduled to air at 6pm on ESPN’s Sportscenter), he admitted to using as  Texas Ranger from 2001 to 2003:

“When I arrived in Texas in 2001, I felt an enormous amount of pressure, felt all the weight of the world on top of me to perform, and perform at a high level every day,” Rodriguez told ESPN’s Peter Gammons in an interview in Miami Beach, Fla. An extended interview will air on SportsCenter at 6 p.m. ET.

“Back then, [baseball] was a different culture,” Rodriguez said. “It was very loose. I was young, I was stupid, I was naïve. I wanted to prove to everyone that I was worth being one of the greatest players of all time.

“I did take a banned substance. For that, I am very sorry and deeply regretful.”

The thing I found most amazing was the following admission about what substance he actually used:

“To be quite honest, I don’t know exactly what substance I was guilty of using,” Rodriguez said.

The man put something in his body which he believed would help him perform better, but didn’t take the time to even learn what exactly he was taking?  Wow.  I know the pressures of living up to the richest contract in baseball history must’ve been immense, but potentially risking one’s life with an UNKNOWN substance just seems beyond stupid.  More than likely it was a steroid, but who knows?

At least he admitted it, unlike the supposed 104 other players who’ve yet to step up…but the reason they’ve yet to step up is because they’ve yet to be named.  This was obviously a hit job perpetrated by someone who leaked the results.  Nobody in the public was supposed to know of the results.

Well, they’re out now and there will be no repurcussions outside of Rodriguez’s tarnished public image, but that may be enough for a man so concerned with said image.

2 Responses to “Alex Rodriguez ‘Is Sorry’ For Banned Substance Usage”

  1. Speener February 22, 2009 at 1:22 pm #

    You know this was so disappointing. I was hoping that when Rodriguez passed Barry Bonds, that would help put the whole mess of his being the HR record holder behind the game. Now I hope A-Fraud doesn’t get there, because if he does it will just put this sad era back on the front pages again.

    And I don’t think he deserves to be in the HOF either. I’ve changed my mind on this and might change it again – but I think there are HOF level players that played during this era that didn’t use PEDs. IF that is in fact true, then you can’t vote for any player that was caught, admitted to, or is suspected of using them. It taints the clean to have the dirty inaugurated with them. It’s not that his numbers shouldn’t count – they obviously do – but we definitely don’t need to value them the same as if he were clean.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Michael Fletcher With The Hard-Hitting Questions For President Obama « I’ve Made a Huge Tiny Mistake - February 10, 2009

    […] February 10, 2009 by Chris Thank you Michael Fletcher, political reporter from the Washington Post, was called on during last night’s Presidential press conference to throw the tenth question of the evening towards Obama.  And boy did he ever! He gets straight to the most important news of the day, unlike the lumps before and after who concerned themselves with questions on the economy and foreign policy.  Mr. Obama, what say you on A-Rod? […]

Leave a Reply

